Relive the BWT Alpine F1 Team 2022 Launch

BWT Alpine F1 team reveals striking A522 to the world as new chapter begins in Formula 1

BWT Alpine F1 Team revealed its contender for the 2022 FIA Formula 1 World Championship today in the city of lights, and Renault Group hometown, Paris. The A522 boasts a striking livery, with a stylish combination of the historic blue of Alpine and iconic pink colours of title partner BWT.

Read the press release

“The Alpine name belongs in Formula 1. Passion, innovation and excellence are values that perfectly align with our vision for the brand. Formula 1 also captures the attention of millions worldwide. So, being present in the competition gives Alpine a huge echo. Last season, we experienced magical emotions with Alpine’s first Grand Prix victory in Hungary. This moment will forever be etched in legend. That winning feeling only fuels the hunger to taste further victories. Laurent is doing a great job to guide the team in this exciting journey to the top. Myself and all at Renault Group are very much looking forward to following closely Alpine’s intended on-track success.”

Luca de Meo
CEO, Renault Group

“It’s with great pleasure that we launch our A522 to the world today, marking the next chapter in Alpine’s Formula 1 journey. We are proud racers and have poured the essence of Alpine’s racing heritage and passion into this new generation of car. We have a clear plan and vision in place at Alpine and we have some of the best people in the business to help drive us forward and realise our ambitions. We are going in the right direction and we want to carry on our climb to the summit.”

Laurent Rossi
CEO, Alpine

Speakers

See more

Luca de Meo

CEO, Renault Group

Luca de Meo first started out his career at Renault and is now CEO. During his many years experience working for major European companies, he acquired much sought-after experience in the automotive industry and in management. He took over the helm of Renault Group and Renault in July 2020.

laurent rossi

Laurent Rossi

CEO, Alpine

Laurent begins his second year at the helm of Alpine, remaining the figurehead of both the car brand and its Formula 1 operation. Born in 1975, in Corsica, Laurent took a keen interest in engineering, motorsport and Formula 1 from a young age. An engineer by trade, Laurent holds a Master of Science in Fluid Mechanics from ENSEEIHT (Toulouse) and a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering / Automotive Engines & Petroleum Products from IFP School (Paris). He began his career at Groupe Renault in 2000 as Project Leader in the Powertrain Division. Laurent then moved to the USA to obtain an MBA from Harvard Business School, which he achieved in 2009, and was then recruited to work for the Boston Consulting Group in New York as Project Leader, specialising in automobiles. Laurent remained in America, joining Google in 2012 as Global Accounts Business Manager, leading business relations with key accounts in the automotive industry. By 2018, Laurent returned to Europe and to Paris, to again work for Groupe Renault in Strategy and Business Development, becoming Chief Strategy Officer in April 2018. With the Alpine name joining the Formula 1 grid ahead of the 2021 FIA Formula 1 World Championship season, Laurent was appointed CEO of Alpine in January of that year, tasked with developing the car brand’s exclusive and innovative line-up, making it profitable by 2025, as well as leveraging its involvement in motorsport.

Esteban Ocon

Race Driver #31

Esteban Ocon begins his third season with the team ahead of the 2022 FIA Formula 1 World Championship season. This season will be Esteban’s fifth full-time campaign in Formula 1, which he enters on the back of experiencing his first victory in Formula 1 last year. Esteban is well known to the Enstone-Viry family having spent the 2016 season as the team’s Reserve Driver, and, prior to that, was part of the Lotus junior programme during which he won the FIA European Formula 3 title in 2014. A year later Esteban won the GP3 Series crown. The 25-year-old has started 89 Grands Prix and accumulated 272 points during that time since making his Formula 1 debut as a teenager at the Belgian Grand Prix in 2016. His best qualifying performance to date remains his superb third place in Belgium in 2018, while his best race result is his stunning debut victory at the Hungaroring last August.

Fernando Alonso

Race Driver #14

Legendary two-time Formula 1 World Drivers’ Champion Fernando Alonso begins his second season with Alpine F1 Team after his intriguing return to the sport last year. Fernando will be the most experienced driver on this year’s grid with 333 Grands Prix starts and 32 race wins to his name. Fernando secured his first Formula 1 podium since 2014 after steering his A521 to a thrilling third place in Qatar in November. The Spanish driver is synonymous with the team’s history in Formula 1. During two prior stints with Renault F1 Team from 2002-2006 and again between 2008 and 2009, he claimed 17 wins, 41 podiums and two Formula 1 Drivers’ World Championships, making him the most successful driver in the team’s history.

Oscar Piastri

Reserve Driver

Oscar Piastri begins 2022 as Alpine F1 Team’s Reserve Driver on the back of his stunning FIA Formula 2 Championship win last year. Born in Melbourne, Australia, Oscar has caught the eye in the junior racing ranks over recent years, having won three consecutive championships across Formula Renault Eurocup, FIA Formula 3 and last year, FIA Formula 2. Since beginning his single seater career in 2017 in British Formula 4, the young Australian has racked up 21 wins, 16 pole positions, 21 fastest laps and 46 podiums across four different levels of racing. In his Reserve Driver role, Oscar will assist the team at Grands Prix, contribute to the team’s development on the simulator at Enstone and enjoy an extensive test programme in the race winning A521 Formula 1 car.

Matt Harman

Matt Harman

Technical Director, BWT Alpine F1 Team

As Technical Director, Matt takes responsibility for delivering performance and experiments to the track, structuring the technical organisation and processes, plus growing talents and teams. He oversees chassis technical direction, bringing to the team his unique experience in Chassis/PU technical integration and trade-off. Matt joined the team in September 2018 as Deputy Chief Designer before moving to Engineering Director. He signed with over 18 years of experience in powertrain design and implementation. Matt’s first taste for engineering began at Ricardo, an automotive business specialising in a range of market sectors including passenger car, commercial vehicles, rail and clean energy. He then moved to Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains as Engineering Team Leader – remaining in that position for 11 years – before becoming Head of Powertrain Integration and Transmission Design for Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team between 2011 and 2018.

Mediacenter

See more

See you on March 20 for the first grand prix of the F1 season

Our Sponsors

Revivre le lancement BWT Alpine F1 Team 2022

BWT Alpine F1 Team dévoile sa spectaculaire A522 pour ouvrir un nouveau chapitre en Formule 1

BWT Alpine F1 Team a levé le voile sur sa nouvelle monoplace pour la saison 2022 du Championnat du Monde FIA de Formule 1 dans la Ville Lumière de Paris, berceau de Renault Group. L’A522 arbore une splendide livrée combinant élégamment le bleu historique d’Alpine et le rose emblématique de son partenaire titre BWT.

Lire le Communiqué de Presse

« Le nom Alpine appartient à la Formule 1. La passion, l’innovation et l’excellence sont des valeurs s’alignant parfaitement avec notre vision pour la marque. La F1 attire aussi l’attention de millions de personnes dans le monde. Notre présence dans cette compétition offre ainsi une immense caisse de résonnance à Alpine. La saison passée, nous avons connu des émotions magiques avec la première victoire d’Alpine au Grand Prix de Hongrie. Ce moment restera à jamais gravé dans la légende. Les sensations qui y sont liées ne font qu’augmenter notre soif de succès. Laurent fait de l’excellent travail pour guider l’écurie dans cette aventure passionnante vers les sommets. Tout Renault Group et moi sommes impatients de suivre de près les prouesses d’Alpine en piste. »

Luca de Meo
CEO Renault Group

« C’est avec un immense plaisir que nous présentons aujourd’hui notre A522 marquant le nouveau chapitre de l’aventure d’Alpine en Formule 1. Nous sommes de fiers compétiteurs et nous avons mis toute l’essence, l’héritage et la passion d’Alpine dans cette nouvelle génération. Nous avons un plan clair et une vision en place chez Alpine et nous pouvons compter parmi les meilleures personnes de notre domaine pour aller de l’avant et assouvir nos ambitions. Nous allons dans la bonne direction et nous voulons poursuivre notre ascension vers les sommets. »

Laurent Rossi
CEO, Alpine

Les intervenants

Voir tout

Luca de Meo

CEO, Renault Group

Luca de Meo a débuté sa carrière chez Renault et en est aujourd’hui le Directeur général. Il a acquis au fil des années et de ses expériences dans les grands groupes européens une expertise recherchée dans les secteurs de l’automobile et du management. Il prend les commandes de Renault Group et de Renault en juillet 2020.

laurent rossi

Laurent Rossi

CEO, Alpine

Laurent a été nommé CEO d’Alpine en Janvier 2021 et est rattaché à Luca De Meo, CEO de Renault Group. Laurent entame sa deuxième année à la tête d’Alpine, dont il demeure la figure de proue de la marque automobile et de ses opérations en Formule 1. Né en Corse en 1975, Laurent se passionne dès son plus jeune âge pour l’ingénierie, le sport automobile et la F1. Ingénieur de formation, Laurent Rossi détient un Master mécanique des fluides à l’ENSEEIHT (Toulouse) et un Master mécanique moteurs et combustion de l’IFP School (Paris). Il commence sa carrière au sein de Renault Group comme chef de projet à la direction de la mécanique en 2000. Laurent part ensuite aux États-Unis pour obtenir un MBA de la Harvard Business School en 2009 avant d’être recruté comme directeur de projet spécialisé dans l’automobile au bureau de New York du Boston Consulting Group. Laurent reste en Amérique et rejoint Google en 2012 où il prend en charge le développement des relations commerciales avec les grands comptes de l’industrie automobile. En 2018, Laurent revient en Europe et au sein du département stratégie et du développement commercial de Renault Group. Il en devient directeur de la stratégie en avril 2018. Avec l’arrivée d’Alpine en F1 pour la saison 2021 du Championnat du Monde FIA de Formule 1, Laurent est nommé CEO d’Alpine en janvier de la même année. Il a alors pour mission de développer la gamme exclusive et innovante de la marque et de la rendre bénéficiaire d’ici 2025 en s’appuyant sur ses engagements en sport automobile.

Esteban Ocon

Pilote de course n°31

Esteban Ocon entame sa troisième année au sein de l’équipe à l’occasion de la saison 2022 du Championnat du Monde FIA ​​de Formule 1. Le Français disputera sa cinquième campagne complète dans la catégorie élite après avoir signé sa première victoire l’an passé. Esteban connaît bien la famille d’Enstone et de Viry-Châtillon pour avoir été le pilote de réserve de l’écurie en 2016. Avant cela, il avait été membre du Lotus Junior Team avec lequel il a été sacré Champion d’Europe FIA de Formule 3 en 2014 avant d’être titré en GP3 Series l’année suivante. Âgé de vingt-cinq ans, il compte 89 départs et 272 points à son actif depuis ses débuts au Grand Prix de Belgique en 2016. Sa meilleure performance en qualifications à ce jour est une troisième place de haute volée en Belgique en 2018 tandis que son meilleur résultat en course n’est autre que son fantastique succès acquis au Hungaroring en août dernier.

Fernando Alonso

Pilote de course n°14

Véritable légende du sport automobile, le double Champion du Monde de Formule 1 Fernando Alonso commence sa deuxième saison avec Alpine F1 Team après son fascinant retour dans la discipline l’an passé. L’Espagnol sera le pilote le plus expérimenté sur la grille cette année avec 333 départs et 32 victoires à son actif. Fernando a signé son premier podium en F1 depuis 2014 en menant brillamment l’A521 n°14 à la troisième place au Qatar en novembre dernier. Sa carrière est étroitement liée à celle de l’équipe. Au cours de ses deux collaborations précédentes avec Renault F1 Team de 2002 à 2006 et de 2008 à 2009, il avait remporté 17 Grands Prix, 41 podiums et deux titres mondiaux pour se constituer le palmarès le plus fructueux de l’écurie.

Oscar Piastri

Pilote de réserve

Oscar Piastri devient en 2022 le pilote réserviste d’Alpine F1 Team a la suite de son superbe titre acquis en Championnat FIA de Formule 2 l’an passé. Le natif de Melbourne (Australie) a fait sensation ces dernières années en formules de promotion en remportant coup sur coup la Formule Renault Eurocup, le Championnat FIA de Formule 3, puis le Championnat FIA de Formule 2. Depuis le début de sa carrière en Formule 4, l’Australien a signé 21 victoires, 16 poles, 21 meilleurs tours en course et 46 podiums dans quatre échelons différents de la pyramide monoplace. Dans son rôle de pilote de réserve, Oscar assistera l’écurie lors des Grands Prix, contribuera au développement de l’équipe au simulateur d’Enstone et bénéficiera d’un programme intense d’essais au volant de l’A521 victorieuse en Grand Prix l’an dernier.

Matt Harman

Matt Harman

Directeur Technique, BWT Alpine F1 Team

Dans son rôle de directeur technique, Matt assume la responsabilité des performances et expérimentations en piste tout en structurant l’organisation et les processus techniques et en assurant le développement des talents et des différentes équipes. Il supervise la direction technique châssis en mettant à profit son expertise unique en matière d’intégration et de compromis entre le châssis et le groupe propulseur. Fort de plus de dix-huit années d’expérience dans la conception et l’intégration de groupes propulseurs, Matt a rejoint l’écurie en tant que concepteur adjoint en chef en septembre 2018 avant d’en devenir le directeur de l’ingénierie. Sa carrière dans le domaine a commencé chez Ricardo, une entreprise automobile spécialisée dans de nombreux segments du secteur (voitures de série, véhicules utilitaires, chemins de fer et énergies propres). Il a ensuite chapeauté l’équipe d’ingénieurs du département High Performance Powertrains de Mercedes AMG durant onze ans, puis a pris en charge l’intégration du groupe propulseur et la conception des transmissions pour Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team de 2011 à 2018.

Médiacenter

Voir plus

Rendez-vous le 20 mars pour le premier grand prix de la saison de F1

Nos sponsors